Dean's Circle of Excellence

The Dean’s Circle of Excellence provides an opportunity for alumni and friends to become engaged with the College of Business, to use their influence and affluence to further the college’s goals, and to participate in ensuring future success.  As the college celebrates more than 100 years of providing quality business education, it also aspires to transform into a top land grant business education program and build for the next 100 years.  To complete the transformation, the college seeks major financial support to ensure growth and development of the college and its distinctive programs.  The level of support needed to achieve these aspirations requires informed and engaged individuals actively involved in helping the college attain its goals.  

The Circle provides advocacy, consultation, and support for the college and the continuing development of its business programs.  Serving as an advocacy group both on campus and off, the Circle promotes a positive image and good relations with business students, alumni, business partners, the OSU campus, as well as with the state, region and nation.

Members of the Dean’s Circle of Excellence commit themselves to the following expectations: 

  • Willingness to provide advice and counsel to the dean, associate deans, program directors, faculty and students on issues and concerns of the college;
  • Mentoring and interacting with college students and serving as a role model;
  • Helping the college to ensure its programs remain relevant by meeting the changing needs of the business community;
  • Promote extramural professional opportunities for college faculty such as consulting engagements, speaking opportunities, internships, and appointments to state and national committees, task forces, and commissions;
  • Promote student opportunities for internships, job placement, service learning, and other relevant opportunities for professional development.
  • Commitment to attend and to be an active participant at Circle of Excellence meetings;
  • Willingness to support the College of Business financially at the minimum level required for membership and to consider additional contributions for projects, initiatives or campaigns;
  • Assistance in the identification, stewardship, cultivation and solicitation of major gift prospects for the college;
  • Serve as ambassadors and advocates for the College of Business; help promote college of business through hosting external events in your area;
  • Engage in other actions that enhance the academic standing of the College and the general well being of its diverse programs, students, alumni, and faculty.

Current Members:

  • David L. Andersen, Andersen Construction Co. Inc., Portland, Ore.
  • Darrel T. Anderson, IDACORP Inc. & Idaho Power Co., Boise, Idaho
  • Leonard A. Aplet, Columbia Management Company, Portland, Ore.
  • Donald C. Atkinson, Federal Way, Wash.
  • Monica Baez, State Farm Insurance, Corvallis, Ore.
  • Stephen M. Bailey, The CRU Estates., Yamhill, Ore.
  • Larry L. Brown, retired (PricewaterhouseCoopers), Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Tanja C. Cebula, Resources Global Professionals, Irvine, Calif.
  • James E. Coleman, E. & J. Gallo Winery, Modesto, Calif.
  • Mary M. Coucher, IBM Corporation, Beaverton, Ore.
  • Diane Detering-Paddison, Cassidy Turley, Portland, Ore.
  • Gayle E. Fitzpatrick, Oracle, Morristown, N.J.
  • Ann L. Flatz, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, Ore.
  • John Gilleland, The Campbell Group, LLC, Portland, Ore.
  • R. Stevens Gilley, Clarence T.C. Ching Foundation, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Brad R. Harlow, B Harlow & Associates LLC, Kirkland, Wash.
  • Scott A. Hibbs, The Standard, Portland, Ore.
  • Scott Hildebrandt, Planar Systems, Inc., Beaverton, Ore.
  • Rich Jansen, Jubitz Corporation, Portland, Ore.
  • Pam C. Johnson, Nike, Beaverton, Ore.
  • Steve Johnson, Celebrity Yacht Group, Portland, Ore.
  • Mark Kralj, Ferguson Wellman Capital Management, Portland, Ore.
  • Tom Leaptrott, Quantum Leap LLC, Washougal, Wash.
  • John M. Lefferts, financial services executive, Dallas, Texas
  • Allen P. Leggett, retired (Arthur J. Gallagher & Company), Emeryville, Calif.
  • Toby A. Luther, Lone Rock Resources, Roseburg, Ore.
  • Gerry Marshall, Bernard A. Newcomb Foundation, Palo Alto, Calif.
  • Jon A. Masterson, Wallboard Tool Company, Inc., Long Beach, Calif.
  • Elise F. McClure, retired (Starbucks Coffee Company), Portland, Ore.
  • Duane C. McDougall, retired (Willamette Industries), Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Derrick E. McGavic, Newport Capital Partners, Skokie, Ill.
  • Dave Miller, KPMG LLP, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Irva Kay Neyhart, Stover Neyhart & Co., Corvallis, Ore.
  • Brian A. Oliver, Aequitas Capital Management, Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • James D. Parkin, Deloitte & Touche, San Jose, Calif.
  • Scott N. Parrish, A-dec Inc., Newberg, Ore.
  • Russell S. Patee, Precision Castparts Corporation, Portland, Ore.
  • Tod D. Perkins, Barclays Capital, Inc., New York, N.Y.
  • Ken R. Poorman, retired (Poorman Enterprises), Portland, Ore.
  • John D. Porter, AAA Oregon/Idaho, Portland, Ore.
  • Carol Potts, HP, Downers Grove, Ill.
  • Peter V. Potwin, Benson Industries Inc., Portland, Ore.
  • Eric H. Schoenstein, Jensen Investment Management, Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Jean Shearer, The Hartford, Seattle, Wash.
  • Ryan K. Smith, Nike Golf, Beaverton, Ore.
  • Angela Snow, Nike, Beaverton, Ore.
  • John Stirek, Trammel Crow Company, Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Ron J. Susa, Chevron Corporation, San Ramon, Calif.
  • Ken Thrasher, Portland, Ore.
  • Mike Wells, CB Richard Ellis, Portland, Ore.
  • Jack G. Wilborn, Jr., retired (KPMG International), Lake Oswego, Ore.
  • Dave Williams, NW Natural, Portland, Ore.
  • Robert G. Zahary, Higher Education Consultant, Santa Fe, N.M.


  • Edward Ray, President, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore.
  • Ilene Kleinsorge, Dean and Sara Hart Kimball Chair, OSU College of Business, Corvallis, Ore.