Advisory Councils

The Dean’s Council of Excellence

Membership on the Dean’s Council of Excellence is by invitation only. As we celebrate more than 100 years of providing quality business education, we are also driving the reinvention of what it means to be a business college that develops profession-ready future innovators and leaders. The council promotes a positive image and good relations with business students, alumni, business partners and across the OSU campus as well as with the state, region and nation.

The Dean’s Council of Excellence provides an opportunity for alumni and friends to become engaged with the College of Business, to use their influence, networks and affluence to advance the college’s goals and to participate in ensuring future success. Membership on the Dean’s Council of Excellence is by invitation only.  


  • Tony Amandi '00 - CFO, Kindercare Learning Centers
  • David Andersen '80 - CEO & Chairman of the Board, Andersen Construction Company, Inc.
  • Leonard Aplet '76 - Sr. Portfolio Mgr., Head of Short Duration and Stable Value, Columbia Management Company
  • Larry Brown '75 - Founder, Earl & Brown
  • Jim Coleman '58 - Co-chairman, E. & J. Gallo Winery
  • Mary Coucher '83 - VP, Greater China Group Technology Partnerships, IBM Corporation
  • Diane Detering-Paddison '81 - Founder & President, 4Word Women
  • Gayle Fitzpatrick '78 - Vice President of Global Technical Support, New Relic
  • Steve Gilley '56 - R Stevens Gilley Real Estate Consultant
  • Brad Harlow '79 - Managing Partner, B. Harlow & Associates, LLC
  • Scott Hibbs '84 - VP & Chief Investment Officer, Standard Insurance Company
  • Ronald Hudson '69
  • Randy Jespersen '75 - CEO, Terasen Gas Inc. (retired)
  • Steve Johnson '81 - Publisher and Charter Specialist, The Best of Yachting
  • Mark Kralj '77 - Principal, Ferguson Wellman Capital Management Inc
  • Toby Luther '96 - President & CEO, Lone Rock Timber Company
  • Gerry Marshall - President, Bernard A. Newcomb Foundation
  • Elizabeth "Betsy" Maust - Managing Director, Deloitte & Touche LLP
  • Elise McClure '81 - VP Tax, Starbucks (retired)
  • Duane McDougall, '74, CEO, Willamette Industries (retired)
  • Dave Miller '91 - Partner, KPMG LLP
  • Eric Nelson '84 - President & CEO, Enumclaw Insurance Group
  • Bernard Newcomb '65
  • James Parkin '86 - Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP
  • Scott Parrish '81 - President & CEO, A-dec, Inc.
  • Russ Pattee '86 - VP & Corporate Controller, Precision Castparts Corporation
  • Tod Perkins '86 - Founding Investor, Head of Strategy, GiftFly LLC
  • Rebecca Rooks '82 - Financial Advisor, Vice President, Ameriprise Financial Inc. 
  • Eric Schoenstein '88 - Managing Director, Jensen Investment Management Inc.
  • Jean Shearer '82 - Consultant, Partners Group
  • Tim Sheerin '87 - Vice President North America Sales, Nike, Inc. (retired) 
  • Ryan Smith '95 - Sr. Director, Revenue & Gross Margin Management, Nike, Inc.
  • Angela Snow '81 - Vice President & Sr. Dir. of Design Culture & Community, Nike, Inc.
  • John Stirek '82 - President, Western Operations, Trammell Crow Company
  • Ken Thrasher '71 - Chairman of the Board, Compli Corporation
  • Donald Waddell '83 - Principal, DSW Capital
  • Trey Winthrop '93 - CFO & SVP of Finance, Bob's Red Mill Natural Foods, Inc.
  • Ron Young '84 - Executive Vice President of Global for Williams - Sonoma, Inc.





Providing Guidance

The College of Business has 11 professional advisory councils for our academic programs that provide vision, guidance and support for continuing, forward-thinking educational development. Advisory councils also promote the College of Business to the business community, augmenting the college's career counseling and placement services while providing our faculty with opportunities for interaction with the business community.





Business Program Advisory Councils

Our Advisory Councils provide advice, guidance and support for the continuing development of our academic programs. Our members are committed to our success and provide a critical link to the latest business trends and workforce needs.

Design Advisory Council

The Design Advisory Council serves across our design programs; including apparel design, design and innovation management, and interior design. It is an opportunity for alumni, friends, professionals and community members to engage with the design community and our design programs: